'Lebendige Stadt' Foundation

Since the year 2000, the "Lebendige Stadt" Foundation has been successfully working for the future of our cities under the Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Alexander Otto. The aim is to preserve the urban diversity of city centers as places where people work, as places where people have their home and as places of cultural activity. The work of the Foundation is focused on illumination concepts, green areas and the creation and design of urban spaces.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees decides on the ways in which the Foundation’s funds are utilised and monitors the work of the Executive Committee. It confirms changes on the Executive Committee and approves the budget.


Alexander Otto
Chief Executive Officer, ECE


Vize Chairman
Wolfgang Tiefensee
Minister of economy, science and digital society, Federal Minister, Thüringen (retired)

Further members in alphabetical order:




Torsten Albig
Managing Director Bundesverband Deutscher Postdienstleister e.V., Former Prime Minister of Schleswig-Holstein


Jan Bettink
FMS Wertmanagement AöR, Chairman of the Board of Directors


Daniel Günther
Prime Minister of Schleswig-Holstein


Alfons Hörmann
President DOSB e.V.


Lutz Lienenkämper
Former Minister for Finance, NRW


Hildegard Müller
President VDA

Mona Neubaur

Mona Neubaur
Minister for Economic Affairs, Industry, Climate Protection and Energy, NRW